Wink of Knowledge: Thermal flow measurement and correction by means of gas detection

Why this test?

Calorimetric flow sensors are typically adjusted to a specific medium, as the measured value is influenced by the thermal conductivity and capacity of the gas. Thus, a specially calibrated sensor is required for each gas. In combination with a density measurement for clean gas detection or concentration determination of binary gas mixtures, calibration data and correction factors can be assigned flexibly and while the process is running. This means that the correct flow value is calculated at all times, regardless of the clean gas or mixing ratio of the mixture, and only one sensor solution is required for this measuring point.

What is a wink of knowledge?

Do you need to quickly measure, draw or do something? The speed to the result counts more than the perfect (scientific) approach. For this reason, we have introduced the wink of knowledge. Science with a wink, so to speak. We don’t want to prove anything scientifically, but quickly demonstrate something pragmatically. If you are interested, we would be happy to discuss these results in more detail with you and your project.

Results

In Figure 1, the raw flow values are plotted in blue on the right-hand axis and the corrected volume flow in orange on the left-hand axis. The blue linear fit clearly shows how the different thermal parameters of CO2 and N2 falsify the determined measured value without density or concentration correction. However, by adding an inline density measurement, the flow can be corrected to within approx. 2% of the set 100 sccm, as shown by the orange linear fit. It has thus been demonstrated that the combination of the TrueDyne density sensor DGF-I1 and the IST flow sensor SFS01 can accurately determine the flow velocity regardless of the concentration ratios of the binary gas mixture.

In addition to binary gas mixtures of known gas components, this principle can also be extended to switching between gases with different densities. Using a clean gas detection system, it is thus possible to select the appropriate calibration data or correction factors and correct the measured value in real time. This makes it possible to realise a flexible, price-performance-optimised flow measurement with all the advantages of the thermal measuring principle:

  • Long-term stable and vibration-resistant measurement
  • Compact design
  • Suitable for process control, thanks to particularly fast response times (<10 msec.)
  • High sensitivity from the lowest flow velocities including direction detection
  • Clean gas detection
  • Multi-parametric measuring system (flow, density, pressure, temperature)
  • Microleakage monitoring
DLO Sensor - Tetrachloroethene - Measurement results
Figure 1: Comparison between corrected and raw flow rate

Experimental setup

Figure 2 shows the setup of the experimental station. The desired flow rate value for various pure gases and gas mixtures was set using thermal mass flow controllers (MFC 1-5) connected in parallel. The mass flow controllers are each calibrated to the corresponding clean gas, which means that the mixing ratio can be precisely controlled. The gas mixture then flows through the two density and flow sensors connected in series.

The I2C measurement signal from the flow sensor is transmitted directly to the gas density sensor, which uses the measured density and the concentration derived from it to calculate the raw value with a correction factor. The resulting flow measured value can now be compared with the set target value of the gas mixers to verify the functionality of the prototype.

 

Figure 2: Experimental setup

Which sensors were used?

Density sensor DGF-i1

  • Click here to learn more about our sensor.

Flow sensor SFS01

  • Click here to learn more about the flow sensor from IST AG.

Procedure

The density measurement, on which the clean gas detection and concentration determination is based, was carried out with the DGF-I1 density sensor for gases from TrueDyne. The gas flow and its direction were determined using the SFS01 Evalkit thermal flow sensor from Innovative Sensor Technology (IST AG).

Two external thermal mass flow controllers (MFC) were used to set several concentrations of a binary gas mixture of CO2 and N2 and to constantly flow through the sensors. Using the logging function, three readings per second were recorded for the following parameters: concentration, flow rate raw value and corrected flow rate.

Sensors that might interest you

Applications that might interest you

Monitoring fuel concentrations
From volume (l)
to mass (kg)
Monitoring of welding gas mixtures
Monitoring of gas mixtures for food packaging

More winks of knowledge that might interest you

Wink of Knowledge: smart mass flow controller

Wink of Knowledge: smart mass flow controller

Discover the future of precise gas flow control with the innovative Smart Mass Flow Controller from TrueDyne Sensors AG. In cooperation with IST AG, we have developed a pioneering device capable of measuring density, temperature, pressure and mass flow – all in one sensor. Designed for flexibility and accuracy, this controller automatically adapts to different pure gases and binary gas mixtures, ensuring optimal performance. Learn more about this groundbreaking solution at TrueDyne Sensors AG.

read more
Article: In-line measurements of the physical and thermodynamic properties of single and multicomponent liquids

Article: In-line measurements of the physical and thermodynamic properties of single and multicomponent liquids

Microfluidic devices are becoming increasingly important in various fields of pharmacy, flow chemistry and healthcare. In the embedded microchannel, the flow rates, the dynamic viscosity of the transported liquids and the fluid dynamic properties play an important role. Various functional auxiliary components of microfluidic devices such as flow restrictors, valves and flow meters need to be characterised with liquids used in several microfluidic applications.

read more
Article: Multiparameter Gas-Monitoring System

Article: Multiparameter Gas-Monitoring System

The aim of the study is to develop a compact, robust and maintenance free gas concentration and humidity monitoring system for industrial use in the field of inert process gases. Our multiparameter gas-monitoring system prototype allows the simultaneous measurement of the fluid physical properties (density, viscosity) and water vapor content (at ppm level) under varying process conditions.

read more

Wissens-Zwinker: Thermische Durchflussmessung und -korrektur mittels Gaserkennung

Warum dieser Test?

Kalorimetrische Strömungssensoren werden typischerweise auf ein bestimmtes Medium justiert, da der ermittelte Messwert von der Wärmeleitfähigkeit und -kapazität des Gases beeinflusst wird. Somit wird für jedes Gas ein eigens kalibrierter Sensor benötigt. In Kombination mit einer Dichtemessung zur Reingaserkennung oder Konzentrationsbestimmung binärer Gasgemische können Kalibrierdaten und Korrekturfaktoren flexibel und im laufenden Prozess zugeordnet werden. Dadurch wird unabhängig vom Reingas bzw. Mischverhältnis des Gemisches jederzeit der korrekte Strömungswert berechnet und es wird nur noch eine Sensorlösung für diese Messstelle benötigt.

Was ist ein Wissens-Zwinker?

Kennen Sie das Bedürfnis manchmal schnell etwas zu messen, zu zeichnen oder zu basteln? Dabei zählt die Geschwindigkeit bis zum Resultat mehr als die perfekte (wissenschaftliche) Herangehensweise. Aus diesem Grund haben wir bei uns einen Wissens-Zwinker eingeführt. Sozusagen Wissenschaft mit einem Augenzwinkern. Dabei wollen wir nicht wissenschaftlich etwas beweisen, sondern schnell etwas pragmatisch aufzeigen. Bei Interesse vertiefen wir diese Ergebnisse gerne mit Ihnen und Ihrem Projekt.

Ergebnisse

In Abbildung 1 sind die Roh-Durchflusswerte auf der rechten Achse in blau und der korrigierte Volumenfluss auf der linken Achse in orange eingezeichnet. Der blaue lineare fit zeigt deutlich, wie die unterschiedlichen thermischen Parameter von CO2 und N2 den ermittelten Messwert ohne Dichte- bzw. Konzentrationskorrektur verfälschen. Durch Zuschalten einer inline-Dichtemessung kann der Durchfluss jedoch bis auf ca. 2% genau auf die eingestellten 100 sccm korrigiert werden, wie der orangene lineare fit zeigt. Es wurde somit nachgewiesen, dass die Kombination des TrueDyne Dichtesensors DGF-I1 und des IST Strömungssensors SFS01 die Strömungsgeschwindigkeit unabhängig der Konzentrationsverhältnisse des binären Gasgemisches präzise bestimmen kann.

Dieses Prinzip kann neben binären Gasgemischen aus bekannten Gaskomponenten auch auf die Umschaltung zwischen Gasen mit unterschiedlichen Dichten erweitert werden. Anhand einer Reingaserkennung ist es so möglich, die passenden Kalibrierdaten oder Korrekturfaktoren zu wählen und den Messwert in Echtzeit zu korrigieren. Damit kann eine flexible, Preis-Leistungs-optimierte Durchflussmessung mit allen Vorteilen des thermischen Messprinzips realisiert werden:

  • Langzeitstabile und vibrationsbeständige Messung
  • Kompakte Bauform
  • Eignung zur Prozesssteuerung dank besonders schnellen Ansprechzeiten (<10 msek.)
  • Hohe Sensitivität ab kleinsten Strömungsgeschwindigkeiten inklusive Richtungserkennung
  • Reingaserkennung
  • Multiparametrisches Messsystem (Flow, Dichte, Druck, Temperatur)
  • Mikroleckage-Monitoring
DLO Sensor - Tetrachlorethen - Messergebnisse
Abbildung 1: Vergleich zwischen korrigiertem und rohem Durchfluss

Versuchsaufbau

Abbildung 2 zeigt den Aufbau der Versuchsstation. Über parallel geschaltete thermische Massendurchflussregler (MFC 1-5) wurde der gewünschte Durchflusswert für verschiedene Reingase und Gasgemische eingestellt. Die Massendurchflussregler sind dabei jeweils auf das entsprechende Reingas kalibriert, wodurch das Mischungsverhältnis präzise geregelt werden kann. Das Gasgemisch durchströmt anschliessend die beiden in Reihe geschalteten Dichte- und Strömungssensoren.

Das I2C Messsignal des Strömungssensors wird direkt an den Gasdichtesensor übertragen, welcher anhand der gemessenen Dichte und der daraus abgeleiteten Konzentration den Rohwert mit einem Korrekturfaktor verrechnet. Der daraus resultierende Durchflussmesswert kann nun mit dem eingestellten Soll-Wert der Gasmischer verglichen werden, um die Funktionalität des Prototypen zu verifizieren.

 

Abbildung 2: Versuchsaufbau

Welche Sensoren wurden verwendet?

Dichtesensor DGF-i1

  • Klicken Sie hier um mehr über unseren Sensor zu erfahren.

Strömungssensor SFS01

  • Klicken Sie hier um mehr über den Strömungssensor der IST AG zu erfahren.

Vorgehen

Die Messung der Dichte, auf der die Reingaserkennung sowie Konzentrationsbestimmung beruht, wurde mit dem DGF-I1 Dichtesensor für Gase von TrueDyne durchgeführt. Der Gasfluss und dessen Richtung wurden mit dem thermischen Strömungssensor SFS01 Evalkit von Innovative Sensor Technology (IST AG) ermittelt.

Über zwei externe thermische Massendurchflussregler (MFC) wurden mehrere Konzentrationen eines binären Gasgemisches aus CO2 und N2 eingestellt und die Sensoren konstant mit durchströmt. Mittels Protokollfunktion wurden pro Sekunde drei Messwerte für die folgenden Parameter aufgezeichnet: Konzentration, Durchfluss Rohwert und korrigierter Durchfluss.

Sensoren die Sie interessieren könnten

Applikationen die Sie interessieren könnten

Überwachung von Treibstoffkonzentrationen
Vom Volumen (l)
zur Masse (kg)
Überwachung von Schweissgasgemischen
Überwachung von Gasgemischen für Lebensmittelverpackungen

Weitere Wissens-Zwinker die Sie interessieren könnten

Wissens-Zwinker: Sole Wasser Konzentrationsmessung – DLO

Wissens-Zwinker: Sole Wasser Konzentrationsmessung – DLO

Wissens-Zwinker: Sole Wasser Konzentrationsmessung – DLO DichtesensorJahrgang 2 | Nummer 2Warum dieser Test?Bei Messungen in Bohrlöcher zur Salzgewinnung, stellt die Konzentrationsmessung ein grösseres Problem dar. Bei gesättigter Sole kommt es schon bei geringen...

mehr lesen
Wissens-Zwinker: Ethylenglykol-Wasser – VLO

Wissens-Zwinker: Ethylenglykol-Wasser – VLO

Wissens-Zwinker: Ethylenglycol-Wasser-Gemisch – VLO Dichte- und Viskositätsmessgerät für FlüssigkeitenJahrgang 2 | Nummer 1Warum dieser Test?Die durchgeführten Messungen sollen in einer Serie von diversen Schnelltests aufzeigen, wie die Konzentration zweier...

mehr lesen
Wissens-Zwinker: Luft (Air) & Stickstoff (N2) – DGF-I1

Wissens-Zwinker: Luft (Air) & Stickstoff (N2) – DGF-I1

Wissens-Zwinker: Luft & N2 - DGF-I1 Dichtemessgerät für GaseJahrgang 1 | Nummer 1Warum dieser Test?Die durchgeführten Messungen sollen in einer Serie von diversen Schnelltests aufzeigen wie präzise der DGF-I1 Dichtesensor für Gase im Betrieb arbeitet. Da Luft und...

mehr lesen